Mayor and Council

(standing): Clay Kingsbery, Rob Swikart, Gary Casazza, John Conklin
(seated): Mark Rubin, Joseph Hemphill, Laura Atwell

The borough form of government was created in 1878 and modified by the Borough Act of 1987. There are approximately 218 municipalities using the borough form of government, which is supervised by a mayor and six council members, all of whom are elected at large. There are 37 boroughs in Monmouth County.

The Governing Body of the Borough of Rumson is made up by the Mayor and Council who are elected by the residents. There are six Council members who are currently made up of one woman and six men. The Mayor has a four-year term and the Council members have three-year terms.

Borough Council Regular meetings are held the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Charles S. Callman Hall Courtroom of the Memorial Borough Hall, 80 East River Road, Rumson, N.J.

Each year at the Reorganization Meeting, the Council adopts a resolution setting the order of business for each Council meeting.

Rumson Borough Full Meeting Schedule

  Borough Council Virtual Meeting

October 12, 2021 at 4:30 pm

Latest Council Meeting Agenda

ZOOM Meeting Details
  1. If you are joining from a smartphone or tablet, install the Zoom app. Access the app and join with meeting number 868 8959 0332 or use the link below.
  2. If you are joining from a desktop or laptop computer with a web browser, open
Audio Only Options:
  1. If you are joining by telephone, dial +1 646-558-8656
    followed by the meeting number 868 8959 0332
    1. Additional Phone Number Options:
      +1 301-715-8592, +1 312-626-6799

Work sessions of the Borough Council may be held immediately following each regular meeting or on the first, third and fifth Tuesdays of each month as needed at 4:30 p.m. in the Courtroom.

Mayor and Council Term Expires
   Mayor Joseph K. Hemphill    December 31, 2023
   Laura R. Atwell    December 31, 2022
   Gary Casazza    December 31, 2023
   John J. Conklin, III    December 31, 2021
   J. Clayton Kingsbery    December 31, 2022
   Sarah Pomphrey    December 31, 2021
   Robert Swikart    December 31, 2023
Borough Council President Expiration of Term
   John J. Conklin, III    December 31, 2021

The Mayor and Council members serve on the following Council Committees:

Council Committees
   Finance/Administration   Conklin, Swikart, Kingsbery
   Police/Fire/EMS   Hemphill, Conklin, Casazza
   Public Works/Utilities/   Kingsbery, Swikart
   Public Buildings/Construction/Zoning/Engineering   Casazza, Hemphill
   County Bridge Construction   Swikart, Casazza, Atwell
   Office of Emergency Management/Council Liason   Hemphill, Swikart
   Planning Board Representative   Casazza
   Planning Board Mayor's Alternate   Kingsbery
   Historic Preservation Commission   Atwell
   Environmental Commission   Atwell
   Shade Tree Commission   Atwell
   Recreation Liasons   Conklin, Atwell
   Affordable Housing Committee   Hemphill, Conklin, (Tom Clark - PB)
   Navesink River Municipal Community Group   Swikart
   Endowment   Hemphill, Kingsbery

The first name indicates the Committee Chairman and the second name the Vice-Chairman. They hold meetings as needed virtually or in the Council Meeting Room on the 2nd floor of Borough Hall.

Public Info
Municipal Court
Public Works

If you have any trouble with accessing information contained within this website, please contact Thomas S. Rogers, Municipal Clerk and Administrator, at

80 East River Road Rumson NJ 07760 TEL 732.842.3300
COPYRIGHT © Borough of Rumson, New Jersey

The content of is for general information purposes only and does not constitute advice. tries to provide content that is true and accurate as of the date of writing; however, we give no assurance or warranty regarding the accuracy, timeliness, or applicability of any of the contents. Visitors to should not act upon's content or information without first seeking appropriate professional advice. In addition, cannot be held responsible for the contents of any externally linked pages.